|
| Headline | Download Safety of online SBOSW? |
|
Page:
[1] |
| Author | Comment |
linclink
Mar-05-2011, 05:10 GMT Unknown
 | I know this will start happening more soon, as promo copies are getting out there...and since I am buying it anyways I have no problem with downloading it early...thing is...I don´t know about the relative safety of this stuff at all...
FYI: at
LINK ERASED - is FAKE
This appears to be a full download now available...
I tested the website at http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/http%3A//isohunt. com & it came up OK, but there is something you´ve got to download..."ilivid" & I didn´t as I didn´t understand it´s safety vs. threat level. I put in a call to a friend in Portland...but for any who understand this stuff...if you get a safe copy please email me at "[email protected]"...Blessings!!!
|
| | |
linclink
Mar-05-2011, 05:48 GMT USA - United Staates America
 | I ran a google search for "Paul Simon so beautiful or so what file" and there are loads of files being shared online...they seemed to have landed within the last day or two and are all about the same size...it´s only a matter of time before someone gets ahold of a safe one & it makes the rounds to to be shared.
Since I´m buying, at least, one copy & possibly more, as I said I´m fine with hearing it as early as possible myself... |
| | |
Gerard
Mar-05-2011, 06:45 GMT New Zealand
 | So, your rationalisation for downlaoding illegally is that you will be buying it anyway? Not sure about that one. doesn´t change the fact that you are receiving stolen goods. |
| | |
James
Mar-05-2011, 07:05 GMT USA - United Staates America
 | Whether one should or should not aside, I can guarantee you that that download is a fake. First and for most, it´s a zip file, most downloads that come out this early and packaged as a zip have a virus attached, second is that readme txt, probably a link to a website to get a ´password´ that will unlock the file, all fake and virus filled. |
| | |
Bodo
Mar-05-2011, 10:41 GMT Austria
 | So James, you tested the file?
I am not surprised that it is/or will be up on some torrents, as we could read on some blogs many radio stations and critics already received a copy months before. |
| | |
Bodo
Mar-05-2011, 12:53 GMT Austria
 | This one is fake.
The want you to sign to their sms newsletter to receive the password.
one sms costs 3 euros or more dollars..whatever.
it does not contain a virus, but anyway it looks fake, because the songs listed are a mix of mp3 and wma files. Also the file sizes are completely wrong, Amulet is a very short song, but has 5MB) |
| | |
linclink
Mar-05-2011, 20:21 GMT USA - United Staates America
 | Thanks for the heads up gang! I´ll wait it out until friends I know, who are in the know, see it appear in certain & safe places.
|
| | |
DannyJ
Mar-06-2011, 08:53 GMT United Kingdom
 | Indeed Bodo... The zip archive contained within in also something else, dressed up to look like a zip file. It is NOT a valid archive, and contains no music files :-(
On a positive point, who would have thought people would be using the allure of a new PS album to dupe unsuspecting downloaders!!! Perhaps, it´s testament to the buzz surrounding SBOSW? |
| | |
linclink
Mar-27-2011, 16:27 GMT USA - United Staates America
 | Well it´s about 2 weeks or so before release date, and this just, literally just, came up (a few hours ago) on "Why Yahoo! Answers?". Here´s a link to the question...which was- "I heard Paul Simon new album So beautiful or so what has leaked or it might be a torrent somewhere, I cant remember what it was! Is it really true cause I Love Paul Simon!!!"
[obscure link erased]
The answer was- "Yes!... So beautiful or so what by Paul Simon is downloadable on mediafire and as a torrent!
I went ahead and looked up a link for you:
[obscure link erased]
pay next time"
I just emailed a friend about the safety. I´m hoping that I worked out getting a promo copy this week myself, but I´m glad to download & hear this today, if it turns out to be safe. When I find out, I´ll let folks here know.
Ethics wise- I´d suggest only downloading early if you are planning on buying a copy. I´m buying a deluxe version myself, and just want to hear it ASAP. |
| | |
Bodo
Mar-27-2011, 18:10 GMT Austria
 | Linlink - could you please stop posting those links if you are not sure that a virus, malware or something else bad is behind it?
It does not look very serious.
The first link you posted had a sms abo costing you a lot of money, and some people might click OK - so if you post those links you work into their hands.
Thank you.
|
| | |
linclink
Mar-27-2011, 23:41 GMT USA - United Staates America
 | @ Bodo: No problem. I´ll wait until I get a for sure good link, for those who are interested. I´m sure one will be out soon.
My friend in Portland is checking into this one tonight. Blessings! |
| | |
Jay
Mar-27-2011, 23:51 GMT USA - United Staates America
 | Linclink if it works can you email a few of them to me. I have already pre-ordered the deluxe CD, and the i-tunes version. |
| | |
Phil
Mar-28-2011, 01:34 GMT USA - United Staates America
 | got an itunes and amazon preorder!! tho I can´t wait, think I´ll wait for the release date. It makes it like a national/religious holiday for me :) |
| | |
Petrsharks
Mar-28-2011, 17:47 GMT United Kingdom
 | these torrent links which are available now out there are not good, I tried few of them, most of them are the same, RAR file, for which you need password, well I got it, but after extracting and playing I realised that these songs are definitelly not PAul´s, just U2 and/or other different groups. Don´t waste your time ;) |
| | |
|
Page:
[1]
|