www.paul-simon.info 
The neck of my Guitar

Forum Mainpage

Start a new Thread

Bottom

HeadlineLicense for Leaves that are Green - chances?

Page: [1]

AuthorComment

Morgan  
Apr-04-2018, 06:23 GMT
New Zealand

Hey team

I'm a student at a film school here in New Zealand and for my final assignment, I have to make a short film. I was using 'Leaves that are Green' as a working title for my film but the director of my school liked it so much he's encouraged me to reach out to Paul and see if I can get the license to use it for non-commercial purposes and potentially film festivals.

Does anyone have any thoughts on a) the likelihood of this happening and b)how/who to contact for this?

Many thanks

Use SEND to share on Facebook or A.M.P.S

[Like] [Reply] - [Readers: 833 ]

Bodo
Apr-04-2018, 08:17 GMT
Austria

If you contact Warner Music or Sony Music in your country, the will probably never answer or just say No.

The best way would maybe to send a written letter to the management if you have the time. The problem is, Management moved away from Brill Building a few years ago and we do not have a new confirmed address. (But maybe they forward mail for many years, as it is/was an very important address)

Adress is under CONTACT on this website.

[Like] [Reply] - [Readers: 823 ]

Morgan
Apr-04-2018, 08:17 GMT
New Zealand

Just to clarify, I'm looking into how to get the license to use the song in my film, not just the title.

[Like] [Reply] - [Readers: 822 ]

Bodo
Apr-04-2018, 10:14 GMT
Austria

yep, that was clear.

If you write a book or movie named "Leaves that are green", or even if you write a song like that, thats far away from any copyright problem. A substantial amount of previous work has to be taken to call it copyright infringment. Otherwise we would have to stop using most words in our language... ;-)